Summary of definitions of uttamā bhakti and its divisions

Here we summarize uttamā bhakti, its divisions and the definitions which were discussed in previous articles.

uttamā bhakti is defined as continuous service directed favorably towards Kṛṣṇa and His devotees. It should be devoid of all material desires and not covered by desire for brahma-sāyujya mukti, and/or faith in varṇāśrama duties.

uttamā bhakti has three divisions: sādhanā, bhāva and prema bhakti.

That is called sādhanā which is accomplished through movement in the mind or senses, and whose effect is bhāva. The sādhyatā of sādhanā is the manifestation of the ever-existing bhāva in the heart.

Sādhanā bhakti has two further divisions: vaidhī and rāgānugā bhakti.

When engagement in bhakti arises not because of liking, but because of injunctions of the scriptures, that bhakti is called vaidhī.

That is rāgānugā bhakti which follows rāgātmikā bhakti. That bhakti which is made of rāga or impelled exclusively (tad-eka-preritā) by rāga, is called rāgātmikā bhakti. Rāgātmikā exists (virājantīm) in its manifest form (abhivyaktāṁ) in the residents of Vraja (vraja-vāsī janādiṣu).

Sādhanā bhakti leads to bhāva bhakti.

Bhāva is samvit+ essence of hlādinī śakti, it is the first appearance of prema, and in it, ruci [three types of desires] for Kṛṣṇa softens the heart with affectionate feelings toward Him.

Categories: bhāva, Definitions, sādhanā

Tagged as:

Leave a Reply